This site is entirely user-supported. See how you can help.
Latitude: 54.9223 / 54°55'20"N
Longitude: -3.9383 / 3°56'17"W
OS Eastings: 275875
OS Northings: 560348
OS Grid: NX758603
Mapcode National: GBR 0CYJ.58
Mapcode Global: WH4W0.GJWT
Entry Name: Douglas Mausoleum, Near to Kelton Parish Church, Railings and Gatepiers
Listing Date: 4 November 1971
Source: Historic Scotland
Source ID: 342160
Historic Scotland Designation Reference: LB9835
Building Class: Cultural
County: Dumfries and Galloway
Electoral Ward: Dee and Glenkens
Traditional County: Kirkcudbrightshire
Architect unknown. Built circa 1820 for James Douglas
(brother of Sir William Douglas of Gelston and Castle
Douglas) by his son William Douglas of Orchardton. Trotter in
his EAST GALLOWAY SKETCHES claims it to be the work of
William Douglas of Orchardton working in collaboration with
William Hugh Williams a noteable landscape artist of the
time. More likely perhaps is that it is the work of Dumfries
architect, Walter Newall, as his sketch books contain designs
for mausolea in a similar style. Unique Egypto-Doric style
pyramidal mausoleum on raised stepped dais with cubical
burial vault below ground. Finely jointed cream sandstone
polished ashlar, crisp detailing. Ramped doorways to each
face, simply architraved with blocked supported by pair of
fluted Doric columns flanking ramped architraved doorpiece.
Above the door a coat of arms, presumably the Douglasses of
Castle Douglas. All doors ramped with studded panels.
Delicately carved triglyph and metope frieze, deeply
overhanging cornice with anthemion motifs to underside of
angles. From this cornice rises another deeply projecting
cornice to give double pagoda roofline, upper cornice with
scalloped edge, square stone finial to top. Burial vault
reached by steep narrow straight stair laid in naval style
with steps alternatively square and triangular. Marble
plaques over tombs.
Coped pair of ashlar gatepiers with elaborate and decorative
early 19th century cast-and wrought iron and railings.
Spearhead cast-iron railings surround tomb.
Other nearby listed buildings