This site is entirely user-supported. See how you can help.
We don't have any photos of this building yet. Why don't you be the first to send us one?
Latitude: 56.2535 / 56°15'12"N
Longitude: -3.2167 / 3°13'0"W
OS Eastings: 324710
OS Northings: 707443
OS Grid: NO247074
Mapcode National: GBR 27.9WW0
Mapcode Global: WH6R7.K2FT
Entry Name: House of Falkland Estate, Fishpond Bridges and Cascade
Listing Date: 12 January 1971
Source: Historic Scotland
Source ID: 372584
Historic Scotland Designation Reference: LB31351
Building Class: Cultural
Electoral Ward: Howe of Fife and Tay Coast
Traditional County: Fife
1897. Pair of small, semi-circular-arched ornamental bridges with concave, open balustrades and circular terminal piers with conical caps; forming inlet and outlet to fishpond and situated close to East Lodge. Random rubble to arch, spandrels and walls; stone ashlar to parapets. Parapets with decorative urn balusters and square-plan piers. Bridge to E with single parapet. Semi-circular rubble cascade to E.
These distinctive, ornamental bridges sit next to the East Lodge (see separate listing) at the entrance to House of Falkland Estate and are a critical part of the entrance approach to the Estate. The smooth ornamental parapets and contrasting rustic masonry of the bridge emphasize the picturesque qualities of the surrounding designed landscape. Ornamental bridges were important features in wider designed landscapes and these are good examples of their type. The bridges also form an important functioning element of the fishpond by helping to regulate the input and outflow of water through the pond. The bridge by the outfall includes a small dam with a cascade below, emphasising the picturesque composition of the pond and bridges.
In its present form, House of Falkland Estate dates from the early 19th century when it was acquired by a John Bruce in 1821. During his time at the estate, Bruce improved the lands around the existing estate house, Nuthill House (now demolished), built the Stables (see separate listing), and cascades and bridges were erected over the Mill and Maspie Burns to allow for walks through the estate.
On his death in 1826, his niece Margaret Bruce inherited the Estate. She married Onesiphorus Tyndall Bruce in 1828 and they made the decision to demolish Nuthill House and to build a new residence. The architect for the new house was William Burn and the house was built in 1839-44. The 3rd Marquis of Bute then bought the Estate in 1887 and he employed Robert Weir Schultz and William Frame to carry out some interior work in the House. Weir Shultz also completed some Arts & Crafts landscaping to the estate. It is suggested by some sources that he was responsible for designing these bridges, but this has not been confirmed. The House of Falkland was used as a convalescent home in the First World War and as a home for Polish Airmen in the Second World War. It is currently a school (2011).
(List description updated 2011).
Other nearby listed buildings