This site is entirely user-supported. See how you can help.
We don't have any photos of this building yet. Why don't you be the first to send us one?
Latitude: 55.6349 / 55°38'5"N
Longitude: -3.1259 / 3°7'33"W
OS Eastings: 329218
OS Northings: 638498
OS Grid: NT292384
Mapcode National: GBR 63M8.1W
Mapcode Global: WH6V5.YMNL
Plus Code: 9C7RJVMF+WM
Entry Name: Kailzie, East Lodge
Listing Date: 12 August 2003
Source: Historic Scotland
Source ID: 396863
Historic Scotland Designation Reference: LB49368
Building Class: Cultural
County: Scottish Borders
Electoral Ward: Tweeddale East
Traditional County: Peeblesshire
Circa 1880 with later rear extension. Single storey and attic, rectangular-plan picturesque lodge (appearing L-plan) with gabled bay and entrance porch. Coursed whinstone rubble with tabbed ashlar quoins and dressings. Timber porch and plain barge boarding.
SE (PRINCIPAL) ELEVATION: to centre right, open timber porch comprising projecting pitched canopy, gabled end with diamond brackets and carved drop in-fill, supported by heavy turned and chamfered timber posts; panelled entrance door. To right, blind wall. Slightly projecting gable to left of porch with central bipartite window; exposed rafters and purlins supporting large timber barge board with straight bracket in-fill and carved drop finial. To left and right returns, gabled ends of main lodge.
NW (REAR) ELEVATION: original fenestration concealed by much later single storey extension.
Replacement multi-paned glazing (probable loss of original stone mullion to bipartite in main elevation). Pitched purple slate roof with overhanging eaves; lead ridging and valleys. No rainwater goods as such, relying on overhanging eaves to main house with gutter and down pipe to verge of gable and porch. Tall stepped ashlar roofline stack with projecting ashlar neck cope and plain terracotta cans.
INTERIOR: not seen, 2002 but in use as residential accommodation.
Sited near Kirkburn, opposite the car park to Cardrona Forest, this lodge is part of the surviving landscape features from Kailzie House (demolished circa 1962). Kailzie was built in 1803 for Robert Nutter Campbell, a Glasgow merchant. It was described as a "very elegant 2-storey and basement mansion of moderate size with a bowed garden front". All that remains of the house is a small building (listed separately) that was formerly opposite the courtyard buildings and a pond now marks the spot of the main house. The stable / kennel block and walled garden survive and are listed separately. This lodge, set to the E of the former house, formed the main entrance to the estate from Kirkburn and Traquair. The main tree lined drive led from the paired NW lodges (at the Peebles end of the estate) and through the parkland. The drive continued down between the stables/kennel block and walled garden, but a picturesque branch led over the main bridge to the house. The drive then arched south-eastwards through Kailzie Park to this picturesque lodge. This drive has not been in use since World War II. Although the compact NE lodges were stylistically similar to the main house (resembling miniature versions with their tabbed quoins and dressings and eaves cornice), this lodge is in the picturesque style and is believed to have replaced a smaller earlier lodge on the same site. There was a vogue for such lodges in the area with similar structures found at Holylee, Cardrona and some estate buildings at The Glen. Listed as a good example of a picturesque vernacular lodge built from local materials and as one of the remaining lodged entrances to the Kailzie landscape (S lodge now lost).
Other nearby listed buildings