This site is entirely user-supported. See how you can help.
We don't have any photos of this building yet. Why don't you be the first to send us one?
Latitude: 55.9053 / 55°54'18"N
Longitude: -3.2604 / 3°15'37"W
OS Eastings: 321300
OS Northings: 668734
OS Grid: NT213687
Mapcode National: GBR 87Z.2M
Mapcode Global: WH6SR.WTMT
Plus Code: 9C7RWP4Q+4V
Entry Name: 34 Woodhall Road, West Colinton Cottage, with Boundary Wall
Listing Date: 19 November 2003
Source: Historic Scotland
Source ID: 397143
Historic Scotland Designation Reference: LB49576
Building Class: Cultural
Electoral Ward: Colinton/Fairmilehead
Traditional County: Midlothian
Circa 1815, additions Alexander Lorne Campbell, 1926. 2-storey; original rectangular cottage with very deep bargeboarded eaves to centre; jerkin-headed 1926 addition with swept porch and verandah to W; single-storey 1926 service wing with courtyard to E. Random rubble with rusticated, polished ashlar quoins to original building, and rake-jointed long and short rubble quoins to addition. Raised margins to some windows. Irregular fenestration.
W (ENTRANCE) ELEVATION: advanced jerkin-headed gable to left with 2 large windows at ground; 1st floor jettied out with tripartite casement. Original cottage recessed to right with large window at ground to outer right. Large porch in re-entrant angle with swept roof and stone piers; timber panelled front door with lights to upper section; small window to left of door; flat-roofed dormer with casement window above porch.
S (ROAD) ELEVATION: wide gable of original cottage to left with 2 windows at 1st floor. Smaller gable to outer right with small timber-boarded door to attic. Flat-coped random rubble wall to centre in front of open courtyard; timber boarded gate in wall.
E (SIDE) ELEVATION: single-storey service wing with 2 windows and wall-head stack.
N (REAR) ELEVATION: wide gable of original cottage to centre with 2 windows at 1st floor; left (E) return with 3 windows at ground and later attic window, breaking eaves. Service wing recessed to outer left with 3 windows. 2-bay verandah advanced to outer right with bell-cast swept roof supported on stone piers; 2 windows in verandah have been filled up. Large wallhead stack above verandah.
Predominantly 12 pane glazing in timber sash and case windows; 8-pane glazing to service wing; some casements to upper floor of addition. Plain bargeboards. Coped stacks with yellow clay cans. Graded grey slate.
BOUNDARY WALL: flat-coped random rubble boundary wall with timber studded gate in curved recess and later, 2-leaf gates by service wing.
Formerly called West Colinton Cottage. It was adjacent to (but not the lodge for) West Colinton House, which was demolished in the 1970s or '80s and replaced by a development of flats which bears the same name. The architect Alexander Lorne Campbell (c. 1877-1941) lived here from about 1926. The original early nineteenth century cottage was built in the picturesque style with deep eaves and the 1926 additions by Lorne Campbell enhanced the picturesque effect of this very attractive cottage. Lorne Campbell was a friend of Rowand Anderson, and when Anderson was awarded the RIBA gold medal in 1912, but was too ill to attend, he chose Lorne Campbell to read his address of acceptance. Lorne Campbell was the architect of several buildings in Colinton, including the Lady Anderson Memorial Cottage and the church hall of St Cuthbert's in Westgarth Avenue.
Buildings of Scotland mistakenly mentions Sir John J Burnet and Edith Hughes in connection with this house. They actually worked on 55 Woodhall Road (Woodhall Cottage), which Burnet retired to in the late 1930s.
Other nearby listed buildings