This site is entirely user-supported. See how you can help.
Latitude: 57.0644 / 57°3'52"N
Longitude: -2.9545 / 2°57'16"W
OS Eastings: 342213
OS Northings: 797449
OS Grid: NO422974
Mapcode National: GBR WJ.8ZS9
Mapcode Global: WH7NF.LP9P
Entry Name: Cambus O'may, Cambus Cottage Including Former Platform
Listing Date: 14 November 2006
Source: Historic Scotland
Source ID: 398927
Historic Scotland Designation Reference: LB50727
Building Class: Cultural
Location: Glenmuick, Tullich and Glengairn
Electoral Ward: Aboyne, Upper Deeside and Donside
Parish: Glenmuick, Tullich And Glengairn
Traditional County: Aberdeenshire
1876. Tiny picturesque single storey rectangular-plan halt with canted angles below polygonal roof to SW and NW, located on the former Aboyne to Ballater Railway, now converted for accommodation. Rendered base course, remainder vertical weatherboarded; corniced frames to wide-centre tripartite windows.
FURTHER DESCRIPTION: Symmetrical 3-bay SW (front) elevation to former railway line with central replacement door. Blank NE (rear) elevation facing rise in land to road.
Multi-pane glazing patterns over plate glass in timber sash and case windows. Swept roof with overhanging eaves. Grey slates with decorative red ridge tiles and finials, and traditional rooflights to NE. Single masonry stack. Cast iron rainwater goods with decorative fixings.
This small yet unusual building stands on the former Aboyne to Ballater Railway, which closed in 1966. It is constructed using the traditional timber framed construction which is a particular feature of the area. In addition to its picturesque quality, the building is also important evidence of the economic development of the area following the arrival of the railway, which opened from Aboyne to Ballater in 1866. This small station, opened 10 years later, did not in fact handle regular passenger traffic, instead being used to unload imported dynamite and load granite (Geddes, p141), which was one of the major exports of the region.
Other nearby listed buildings