History in Structure

This site is entirely user-supported. See how you can help.

Crossing House

A Grade II Listed Building in Aspley Guise, Central Bedfordshire

More Photos »
Approximate Location Map
Large Map »


Latitude: 52.0213 / 52°1'16"N

Longitude: -0.6329 / 0°37'58"W

OS Eastings: 493902

OS Northings: 236755

OS Grid: SP939367

Mapcode National: GBR F1Z.8SD

Mapcode Global: VHFQQ.ZG8B

Plus Code: 9C4X29C8+GR

Entry Name: Crossing House

Listing Date: 6 September 1999

Grade: II

Source: Historic England

Source ID: 1386644

English Heritage Legacy ID: 474040

Location: Aspley Guise, Central Bedfordshire, MK17

County: Central Bedfordshire

Civil Parish: Aspley Guise

Built-Up Area: Woburn Sands

Traditional County: Bedfordshire

Lieutenancy Area (Ceremonial County): Bedfordshire

Church of England Parish: Aspley Guise

Church of England Diocese: St.Albans

Tagged with: House

Find accommodation in
Aspley Guise


1846/1/10004 Crossing House
Railway crossing house. 1846 for the Bedford Railway. Rendered with mock timber framing and tile roof. Two storey gabled cottage in the picturesque' style purporting to be a late C16 timber framed house with a continuous jetty. Main gabled range with a single storey wing at right angles. The main range is one room deep with the gable end to the track. This has a metal casement on the ground floor and a possibly original cross framed casement above. Scalloped bargeboards. The elevation to right of this has a continuos jetty to carry the first floor which is divided into five rendered panels. Single storey wing with pointed arch gabled porch. No windows on the main range. The left hand elevation is also blind, again jet tied and with two external brick stacks with diapering on the tall shafts. Fish scale tile roof. Rear gable end has a cross framed casement below and a replacement timber casement above.
INTERIOR: not inspected. HISTORY: This crossing house of 1846 is an unusually elaborate example of its type. IIt was built for the Bedford Railway which was a constituent of the London and Birmingham Railway, but by the time it opened on 17 November 1846 they had all become a part of the London and North Western Railway. The picturesque timber frame cottage design is a smaller version of the stations on the line several of which are listed. They were designed in this style to appease the Duke: of Bedford whose estate was crossed by the line.
Source C Awdry, Encyclopaedia of British Railway Companies, Robert Stephens, 1990, p60.

Listing NGR: SP9390236755

External Links

External links are from the relevant listing authority and, where applicable, Wikidata. Wikidata IDs may be related buildings as well as this specific building. If you want to add or update a link, you will need to do so by editing the Wikidata entry.

Recommended Books

Other nearby listed buildings

BritishListedBuildings.co.uk is an independent online resource and is not associated with any government department. All government data published here is used under licence. Please do not contact BritishListedBuildings.co.uk for any queries related to any individual listed building, planning permission related to listed buildings or the listing process itself.

British Listed Buildings is a Good Stuff website.