This site is entirely user-supported. See how you can help.
We don't have any photos of this building yet. Why don't you be the first to send us one?
Latitude: 56.069 / 56°4'8"N
Longitude: -3.5999 / 3°35'59"W
OS Eastings: 300497
OS Northings: 687392
OS Grid: NT004873
Mapcode National: GBR 1S.PM6W
Mapcode Global: WH5QP.NQZ9
Plus Code: 9C8R3C92+H3
Entry Name: Garden, Valleyfield House
Listing Name: Valleyfield Wood, Policies of Valleyfield House, Walled Garden, Ha-Ha to N, Gateway to W and Bridge to W of Canal
Listing Date: 30 June 1992
Source: Historic Scotland
Source ID: 353408
Historic Scotland Designation Reference: LB19120
Building Class: Cultural
Electoral Ward: West Fife and Coastal Villages
Traditional County: Fife
Components of Repton's pleasure grounds, designed as artificial elements in contrast to the surrounding picturesque scenery, circa 1800-1804.
WALLED FLOWER GARDEN: a slightly later design development within the circa 1800-04 period. Rectangular, walls on 3 sides, canal enclosing to S. Walls random rubble, brick lined, with droved ashlar dressings and polished sandstone ashlar dressings to entrances. Remains of storage chambers, 2 with brick groin vaults at N side of N wall. Enclosed within walled garden is a formal
TERRACE: with symmetrical flights of stairs, swept on convex curves, with polished ashlar moulded treads, squared and stugged rubble piers, stugged copings and brick patching. Enclosing walled garden to N is a
HA-HA: and AVENUE OF TREES; acting as a screen to conceal the walled garden from the carriage drive (see NOTES).
ARCHED GATEWAY: to W, picturesque "ruined" gateway with droved ashlar abnd rubble masonry, wide raised margin to lower base-course.
CANAL/FISHPOND:(NT003874) enclosing walled garden to S. Long, narrow formal strip; sluice to E. Bluther Burn forks to W to surround vescica-shaped island (illustrated in the Red Book plan).
WEIR: at S end of island.
BRIDGE TO W (NT0033 8748): early 19th century, single span arched and keyblocked footbridge, sandstone ashlar, raised margin at arch voussoirs, parapet rebuilt in concrete.
Valleyfield House and stables were demolished in 1918; the estate has been extensively developed and subdivided leaving only a tiny portion of the designed landscape which represents the only Scottish commission of landscape architect Sir Humphrey Repton, although he never visited Scotland, instead his two sons John Adey and George Stanley acted as agents making the necessary site visits. Today the area of interest, including features of Repton's original landscape, is mainly confined to the area on the OS map sheet NT 08NW, grid 0087. The site was acquired by Dunfermline District Council in 1988 as a country park.
The West Lodge is listed in Culross Parish, the East Lodge has been demolished. An addition to the "Red Book" manuscript dated 14 December 1801, in a hand other than Repton's, describes the WALLED GARDEN. The N SCREEN OF TREES was a deliberate component of Repton's design: "the flower garden should not be visible from the roads or general walls about the place" (Tait, p248). The proposed desig for an architectural feature to mark the end of the CANAL as illustrated in the Red Book (a seat flanked by 2 aviaries seems not to have been built.
The CANAL was deliberately artifical; "a serpentine canal would be as absurd as a serpentine garden wall, or a serpentine bridge" (Red Book extract), Tait p249.
Ruined 2-storey gabled building, of early 19th century date at NT 003875.
Other nearby listed buildings