This site is entirely user-supported. See how you can help.
We don't have any photos of this building yet. Why don't you be the first to send us one?
Latitude: 52.5068 / 52°30'24"N
Longitude: -3.9784 / 3°58'42"W
OS Eastings: 265819
OS Northings: 291722
OS Grid: SN658917
Mapcode National: GBR 8X.H134
Mapcode Global: VH4F1.0833
Entry Name: Yr Ysgoldy Fach
Listing Date: 14 January 2000
Last Amended: 28 May 2004
Source ID: 22779
Building Class: Education
Location: Prominently situated above road on N end of village, just N of present school.
Locality: Tre Taliesin
Traditional County: Cardiganshire
Former Llancynfelin National School of 1856, probably designed by Roderick Williams of Aberystwyth, architect and builder. School has strong similarities to another school known to be by Williams, at Capel Bangor (1852). Williams was a builder turned architect who worked for the Nanteos estate, designing the Tregaron Town Hall. His schools at Capel Bangor and Tre Taliesin show him working in the picturesque Tudor style, outmoded by then by arrival of the more correct Gothic Revival, which came late to West Wales. Now used as a community hall. Land was given by W.T. Jones of Gwynfryn.
Former schoolroom, rubble stone with steep slate roof, close eaves and small rendered bellcote to right gable. Symmetrical single storey facade of four bays, dominated by tall central chimney, which has shouldered chimney breast, tall square stone stack on base chamfered-in at eaves level with slate tabling. Slate capping. To each side of chimney are two large timber six-light mullion and transom windows with mid-transom and cast-iron lattice glazing, slate sills and heavy slate lintels. Lower gabled porches abut each end and project with timber bargeboards and Tudor-arched doorways with dressed stone voussoirs. Right hand porch has C20 wrought iron gate and blocked arch to rear wall. Wheelchair access to left hand porch. Single windows as on front to rendered left and right end walls. C20 rear extension.
Single-cell interior open to ridge. It originally had gallery at right end: marks of former posts are visible. Five-bay open collar-truss roof. Wooden floor, white painted plaster walls, centre blocked fireplace. Boarded gable opening in end gable.
Small central window to rear wall, hatch into modern kitchen, and door to toilets all C20.
Listed as a well-preserved and well-designed mid C19 former National School, designed in the picturesque Tudor style. Schools as unaltered as Ysgoldy Fach are rare.
Other nearby listed buildings