This site is entirely user-supported. See how you can help.
Latitude: 51.4966 / 51°29'47"N
Longitude: -0.1721 / 0°10'19"W
OS Eastings: 526985
OS Northings: 179096
OS Grid: TQ269790
Mapcode National: GBR 5K.KP
Mapcode Global: VHGQY.YNW3
Plus Code: 9C3XFRWH+J5
Entry Name: Victoria and Albert Museum
Listing Date: 15 April 1969
Source: Historic England
Source ID: 1190187
English Heritage Legacy ID: 203740
Location: Brompton and Hans Town, Kensington and Chelsea, London, SW7
County: Kensington and Chelsea
Electoral Ward/Division: Brompton & Hans Town
Built-Up Area: Kensington and Chelsea
Traditional County: Middlesex
Lieutenancy Area (Ceremonial County): Greater London
Church of England Parish: Holy Trinity with St Paul, Onslow Sq and St Augustine, Sth Kensington
Church of England Diocese: London
TQ 2679 SE TQ 2779 SW CROMWELL ROAD SW7
39/5 40/5 Victoria and Albert
Museum. 1860 by Sir Henry Cole and Captain Fowke. Unique facades of the quadrangle
form the heart of the Museum. Terra-cotta decorations by Godfrey Sykes and mosaics by
West side 1861-63.
North side 1864-68.
On ground floor are the old Refreshment Rooms built by 1867, consisting of the central
Refreshment Room decorated by Sykes and Gamble, the Green Dining Room decorated by
William Morris, and the Grill Room designed in 1869 by D J Poynter and completed in
1874. Also the staircase leading up to first floor, designed by F W Moody with a
mosaic portrait of Henry Cole 1868-76. On first floor the old Ceramic Gallery
completed about 1868 with elaborate decoration including ceramic-faced columns by
Minton. (Dismantled 1914).
East side completed by late 1890's and connected up with south side which is the
library side and built in 1884. The south courts of iron construction were built in
1862. They are now boxed in to make the present museum restaurant and tapestry court.
The decoration of these courts was completed by 1874. The lunettes at either end of
the eastern court were decorated by Lord Leighton in 1880 and 1886.
The main entrance hall and staircase designed by Aston Webb in 1891 and built
1899-1901. Queen Victoria laid the foundation stone, the last major ceremony she
performed, and the south front was completed in 1909. Colonnade connecting with Royal
College of Science (now Henry Cole wing). Much of the Museum's interior has recently
been restored. John Physick: The Victoria and Albert Museum.
Listing NGR: TQ2698579096
This text is from the original listing, and may not necessarily reflect the current setting of the building.
Other nearby listed buildings