History in Structure

Strathmiglo, Pitlour House, West Lodge

A Category B Listed Building in Strathmiglo, Fife

More Photos »
Approximate Location Map
Large Map »


Latitude: 56.2845 / 56°17'4"N

Longitude: -3.2853 / 3°17'7"W

OS Eastings: 320524

OS Northings: 710968

OS Grid: NO205109

Mapcode National: GBR 24.85VG

Mapcode Global: WH6R0.H9SL

Plus Code: 9C8R7PM7+QV

Entry Name: Strathmiglo, Pitlour House, West Lodge

Listing Name: West Lodge, Pitlour House, Strathmiglo

Listing Date: 22 October 1984

Category: B

Source: Historic Scotland

Source ID: 351360

Historic Scotland Designation Reference: LB17436

Building Class: Cultural

ID on this website: 200351360

Location: Strathmiglo

County: Fife

Electoral Ward: Howe of Fife and Tay Coast

Parish: Strathmiglo

Traditional County: Fife

Tagged with: Gatehouse

Find accommodation in


1820-1830. Single storey and attic, 3-bay, rectangular-plan Picturesque lodge with gothic-arched windows to gable walls, deep eaves with exposed rafter ends and small wing with half piend roof to north east. Catslide dormers flanking full dormer to rear. Situated at west entrance to estate. Red ashlar sandstone with polished ashlar dressings and quoins. Chamfered window and door openings, hoodmoulds to windows.

Diamond lattice glazing in timber casement windows to front elevation and in pointed windows to gable ends. Traditional small pane glazing in sash and case windows to extension and on rear elevation. Grey slates. Tall harled stacks with yellow clay cans.

Statement of Interest

A good largely unaltered Picturesque lodge probably dating from the 1820s with fine architectural detailing. It is a significant component of the group of estate ancillary buildings at Pitlour.

It is not clear when precisely the lodge was built. It appears on the first edition OS map (1855-56). The details such as the diamond lattice windows and eaves with exposed rafter ends were frequently adopted from pattern books produced in the 1820s and 1830s. However the influence of these books continued to be felt in varying degrees on lodges and gatehouses throughout the rest of the 19th century.

Documentary evidence shows that new approaches to the estate were made and bridges built in the mid-1820s by Alexander Martin, surveyor, Cupar.

Census records show that the building was not used as a lodge for the Pitlour estate as a whole until the 1870s. In the 1840s there was only one lodge on the estate which was that now known as the South Lodge.

By 1871 the building is described as the 'Lodge Home Farm'. Around this time it was used to house agricultural labourers on the farm. In 1881 it was called for the first time 'Pitlour Lodge West' when the butler was accommodated here and in 1901 finally 'West Lodge' which was the home of the housekeeper for a number of years. In the twentieth century the West Lodge served as the factor's house for the estate. Allan McDougall was the long-serving factor in the 1930s and 1940s.

Listed building record and statutory address updated, 2014.

External Links

External links are from the relevant listing authority and, where applicable, Wikidata. Wikidata IDs may be related buildings as well as this specific building. If you want to add or update a link, you will need to do so by editing the Wikidata entry.

Recommended Books

Other nearby listed buildings

BritishListedBuildings.co.uk is an independent online resource and is not associated with any government department. All government data published here is used under licence. Please do not contact BritishListedBuildings.co.uk for any queries related to any individual listed building, planning permission related to listed buildings or the listing process itself.

British Listed Buildings is a Good Stuff website.