This site is entirely user-supported. See how you can help.
We don't have any photos of this building yet. Why don't you be the first to send us one?
Latitude: 52.7106 / 52°42'38"N
Longitude: -4.0077 / 4°0'27"W
OS Eastings: 264462
OS Northings: 314444
OS Grid: SH644144
Mapcode National: GBR 8V.2CVX
Mapcode Global: WH56T.D4S8
Entry Name: Arthog Hall
Listing Date: 20 November 1989
Last Amended: 1 February 1995
Source ID: 5218
Building Class: Domestic
Location: Set against the hillside on a plateau with broad open views across the Mawddach estury; reached via a steep, winding drive from the centre of Arthog village off A 493.
Traditional County: Merionethshire
Country house in picturesque castellated style, built 1833 for Reginald Fourden, a Lancashire cotton mill owner on an earlier site; it is possible that part of a previous building is
incorporated. The site was originally called Pwllarthog; a Lewis Williams, Gent of Pwllarthog is mentioned in 1732 and was buried in Llangelynin church in 1737. Major restoration after a fire in 1942 and now partly converted into separate accomodation.
2 storeys with rubble elevations and slate roofs; off-centre rubble chimney, cylindrical with square cap and base, and square end chimneys to L and R with moulded capping. The main, front range has 3 transverse hipped roofs concealed to front behind a high crenellated parapet. Symmetrical 5-bay front with broad central bay flanked by D-shaped bowed projections. 12-pane slightly-recessed sash windows shallow Gothick heads with voussoirs and labels; similar head to central first-floor 2-light casement window with marginal and diamond-pattern glazing bars.
Gothick half-glazed double doors under a later canopy on iron clustered columns, formerly a porch and balcony. Cross-range to the R joins the continuation of the longitudinal rear range and to SW at a splayed angle runs a stepped 2-storey service range, part whitewashed to ground floor. This has a boarded door at the angle with the main block; open entrance to R of this with flanking unglazed and modern windows. Large cart entrance to R of this with concrete lintel. The range steps down to the R to become single storey; window and 2 boarded doors, that to the R deeply recessed. New slate roof and boarded upper gable; rubble lean-to with plastic roof and adjoining to the NW a section of stone-capped rubble wall with an open round-arched entrance.
The greater part of the 7-bay rear is 2 storey with overhanging eaves and mostly small pane sash windows. Steps down to central recessed doors and further, later doorways to R and to extreme
ends to cottages called Cader and Diffwys. That to the former is contained within a lean-to bay to the extreme R; the other 2 entrances are raised up and are approached by 3 curved slate steps, those to Diffwys original.
The interior was severely damaged by fire but formerly had a full-height galleried hall.
Attached to the rear of the service range, a 2-storey, 2-window cottage of rubble and slate with plain end stack to L with capping and weather coursing; stone eaves cornice. Round arched entrance to L with projecting key and imposts and slate voussoirs; boarded stable door with 5-pane semi-circular fan. To the R and above 4-pane casement windows with round-arched heads as before and fans to smaller, upper ones. Plain fan to ground floor window, formerly an entrance; plain 4-pane casement to R of this. Cusped bargeboards to SW gable end, the eaves cornice returned around this side. Modern porch incorporated into longer rear roof pitch.
Listed as a small-scale country house in picturesque castellated style in a commanding location.
Other nearby listed buildings