This site is entirely user-supported. See how you can help.
Latitude: 52.9319 / 52°55'54"N
Longitude: -3.0713 / 3°4'16"W
OS Eastings: 328086
OS Northings: 337703
OS Grid: SJ280377
Mapcode National: GBR 72.MBFY
Mapcode Global: WH78C.SKNP
Entry Name: Llwyn-y-cil Lodge
Listing Date: 29 July 1998
Last Amended: 29 July 1998
Source ID: 20211
Building Class: Gardens, Parks and Urban Spaces
Location: The lodge stands within the gates, on the N side and facing the drive.
Community: Chirk (Y Waun)
Locality: Chirk Castle
Traditional County: Denbighshire
The Lodge was built in 1888, when the main driveway to Chirk Castle was moved from New Hall Lodge, at the same time as the main gate screen.
Built in a picturesque Tudor Domestic style of decorative timber square-panel framing with diagonal braces forming lozenges, set on a sandstone plinth. Red tile roof. Single storey, a balanced asymmetrical design of 3 bays comprising a central recessed entrance porch with a 3-bay timber arcade, the arches and posts carved in a Jacobean style, and low balustrades, all underpinning a shaped gable with central oak cartouche. Central studded oak door and black stained oak dado panelling each side. The left bay has a small gable jettied over a rose-carved jetty beam. The right hand bay is slightly set forward and fully gabled above an oak-leaf carved jetty beam. Below a canted oriel window with moulded mullions and transoms. All glazing is leaded. The E end gable is similarly gabled, the jetty bressumer carved with vines, and a timber window with a cornice below. Central ribbed brick stack.
The interior has some C17 panelling from the demolished house at Cefn-y-wern.
Included as a good example of Tudor Domestic Revival style adapted for a park lodge, and placed in the highly picturesque context of the main entrance to the park. Of group value with the Main Gates to Chirk Castle.
Other nearby listed buildings