This site is entirely user-supported. See how you can help.
Latitude: 52.9006 / 52°54'2"N
Longitude: -3.6162 / 3°36'58"W
OS Eastings: 291386
OS Northings: 334907
OS Grid: SH913349
Mapcode National: GBR 6C.PB2V
Mapcode Global: WH675.FC75
Plus Code: 9C4RW92M+6G
Entry Name: Llanycil Cottage
Listing Date: 5 August 1991
Last Amended: 22 October 2001
Source ID: 14956
Building Class: Education
Location: Facing NE on a triangular site at the junction between the main road, along the shore of Bala Lake, and the by-road to Parc; set back behind a rubble walled forecourt.
Traditional County: Merionethshire
Dated 1838; built as a Church Schoolroom and Schoolmaster's House and capable of taking 50 to 60 children. The 1847 Education Report indicates that the school did not flourish and had closed after only a few years.
Small one-and-a-half storeyed former schoolhouse in simple Tudor style; of rubble construction with renewed slate roof and overhanging, boarded eaves. Distinctive hexagonal stone chimney to centre with cornice and square base. Symmetrical 2 window front with gabled porch to centre. This has an inscribed, segmentally-arched, timber panel over the entrance; square headed openings to sides and seats within; boarded double doors. Flanking 3-light metal frame casement windows with diamond-paned metal-frame glazing over high transoms; slate lintels with stopped labels. Similar window to left hand gable end and another to 2 window rear; eaves raised in two places at rear to accommodate modern dormers. Plain 3 light window to right hand gable end where boundary wall steps up; attached monopitch-roofed outhouse.
Simple interior with triangular-shaped lobby created by diagonally placed doorways; schoolmaster's house to left and schoolroom to right, with fireplaces to central dividing wall.
Listed as an early C19 school of well-preserved picturesque Tudor Gothic character.
Other nearby listed buildings